Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

After its been bubbling away for 40 minutes. Perhaps not the most photogenic of meals, but very tasty.

We need to budget at the moment, so I’m making quite a few dishes with lentils. One of my favourite recipes is Dahl and there are always red lentils in the cupboard. There are also some green ones that I should probably use up at some point, but generally I use the red ones, as I love their texture and colour.

This recipe really is a lifesaver as when it’s been the week before payday we’ve often made a big batch of this and eaten it for a few days. I’ve eaten it on its own, or I have it with brown/white rice, vegetables or simply with naan bread.

The recipe is taken from Natalie Savona’s Wonderfoods – a book that I was given as a present. It has a number of healthy/tasty recipes, but this is the one that I use again and again. The recipe is also easy to adapt – I often add a few different vegetables or spices to the mix. And sometimes I’ve added sausages or chorizo.

Ingredients:

1-2 tsp’s of extra-virgin olive oil

2 small onions (finely chopped)

3-4 small carrots (finely chopped)

5 garlic cloves (finely chopped)

1 tsp of ground coriander

1 tsp of ground cumin

1 tsp of ground turmeric

1 mug of red lentils

3 mugs of cold water

400g canned plum tomatoes (if whole chop up with kitchen scissors in the can)

Salt and pepper

Method

Heat the oil and cook the onions, carrots, garlic and spices for three or four minutes. Add a little water if you need to as you do not want the mixture to burn.

Then add the lentils, the water and the tomatoes. Bring to the boil and then simmer for an hour, stirring occasionally and checking for seasoning. Add salt and pepper if needed.  It’s as simple as that! So easy but so tasty.

