Tags

, , , ,

So I have decided to start a food blog as I love food and want to get better at cooking, and try new recipes. I also want to store some of my weekday recipes so that I do not forget them, and this will mean I can tinker with them in the future.

I thought this was as good a time as ever; even better since my partner and I have recently moved to the North-East of England. I thought for the first recipe I would put something down that I love to have quite often – that is chicken – tasty and affordable. There will no doubt be lots of chicken recipes forthcoming… My love of the bird knows no bounds – well maybe some bounds.

I very rarely cook a whole chicken as I tend to use chicken pieces quite often – particularly thighs and drumsticks. But for my first blog post I thought I’d give it a try. I had ordered a free-range chicken because I was feeling flush and we were actually given an organic and free-range chicken by mistake – Bonus.

This was a very enjoyable dinner, which new oven problems aside, gave us lots of yummy leftovers for the next few days. The only point I would say is that these potatoes do not roast as such; instead they suck up the juices/wine/stock. They’re also pretty good cold as well. 😉

Roast Chicken with Garlic Potatoes

Adapted from a recipe for Foolproof Slow Roast Chicken on BBC Good Food.

Ingredients

Two-three knobs of Butter

1.5kg-2kg chicken

1kg of Potatoes (Maris Piper or King Edward for instance) – cut into quarters or smaller if quite big.

2 heads of garlic (each one divided into two)

100ml of wine

100ml chicken stock

2 Carrots (sliced)

2 Celery Sticks (sliced)

1 Onion (quartered)

1 Lemon (quartered)

6 Bay Leaves

2-3 Tablespoons of Tarragon

• Preheat the oven to 160C. To begin with grease a large roasting tin with a knob of butter and smear some all over the chicken as well. Mix one knob of butter with a tablespoon of tarragon and place that with the lemon cut up in the chicken’s cavity.
• Place the chicken in the roasting tin. Then place the potatoes quarters and garlic halves around the chicken, and pour the wine and stock over them all. (see Picture) Cover all of this with foil and place in the oven for 1 hr. If like me you have a stupid electric oven make sure to preheat much higher first and then reduce it to 160C.

Roast Chicken

Chicken about to be put into the oven

• Take the chicken out and add the sliced carrots and celery and quartered onion around the chicken. Take off the foil and cook for a further 50 minutes. Now depending how your chicken is doing, finally turn up the heat to 220C and cook for a final 30 minutes. I added the tarragon before the final 30minutes and also checked to see if it needed any seasoning.
• Finally, leave the chicken to rest for 10 minutes. I served the chicken and potatoes with some steamed kale and added the juices from the roasting tin to make some gravy. Yum.

