Tags

, , , ,

Granola

Granola in a Jar

So on the weekend I actually got around to making some granola for our breakfasts during the week. My partner’s new job means that he has to get up and out quickly so has been missing out on the most important meal of the day tut tut. Anyway, I’ve always wanted to be a smug bastard who ate their own granola and have finally made it!

I’ve started off here with a simple granola from BBC Good Food (yes I probably overuse this) which seems to have been highly rated. Although it’s quite seed heavy, most of the commentators have stated how this version keeps one full till midday – perfect. I certainly think I will experiment in future, but for now this is a very serviceable and tasty effort.

Be careful however. The maple syrup that I got from a certain supermarket that I won’t mention actually only had 40% of maple syrup contained within it – the rest was carob fruit syrup! This did not have a huge effect on the final outcome, but I can imagine that with a better quality maple syrup it would be even tastier. I stayed very close to the recipe, choosing to go for desiccated coconut rather than coconut flakes.

One final thing – this produces some clumps, but I wonder if there is another recipe with more of a clump factor!

Recipe adapted (although not by much!) from ‘good-for-you granola’ from BBC Good Food.

Ingredients:

2 tbsp vegetable oil

125ml maple syrup (but make sure you get the good stuff!)

2 tbsp honey

1 tsp vanilla extract

300g rolled oats

50g sunflower seeds

4 tbsp sesame seeds

50g pumpkin seeds

100g flaked almonds

100g dried berries (I just used an average mixed packet)

50g desiccated coconut

  • The recipe states to Preheat Oven to 150/Gas Mark 2 but as we have a terrible oven so we started off with a higher hear and then reduced the temperature to about 170. Bar the coconut and dried berries thoroughly mix all the ingredients in a large bowl.
  • Tip the mixture onto a large baking sheet (or two) and spread the mixture out evenly. Bake this for 15 minutes. After which, add the coconut and dried berries and cook for another 10/15 minutes. You might want to check after 10 as you do not want the fruit to burn. Also after the first 15 minutes make sure to mix the granola so as to make sure it retains an even dark colour throughout.
  • After it has baked, leave to cool on another tray or board and then store it in glass containers. Try not to nibble it now!! We’ve been eating this for the last few days and it’s very nice – I may try with yoghurt and fruit tomorrow!
Close Up

Close up of Granola

