Tags

, , , ,

Pasta and Peas

We had already eaten quite a bit at this point!

I’ve been going slightly insane with marking at the moment and yesterday I just had to get out and head to the city centre. I also needed a massive caffeine fix as I had not had one for at least three hours – yes, I’m slightly addicted.

I went to the local M&S because I wanted to get some good goat’s cheese. I was in a goat’s cheese mood. But slightly randomly they had no lemons, or fresh herbs! The latter I can understand but no lemons! GRR… It also started to rain heavily as I was in the shop which forced me to head to the cafe, where I was again forced to eat a cheese scone. This reminds me that I definitely want to make some scones soon!

Anyway fortunately Chris picked up my missing ingredients on the way back from work.

The weather has been up and down recently up in the North-East but I wanted a summery dish even if the weather was not… This was just what I needed and really tasty. The combination of peas and pumpkin seeds is something I would never have thought of but it really does work. And although goat’s cheese was not in the original recipe, it really worked well – trust me! I also used dried rather than fresh pasta.

Recipe adapted from Nigel Slater: Real Fast Food

50g of pumpkin seeds

175g of penne pasta

225g of frozen petis pois

4 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil

1 large clove of garlic (crushed or finely sliced)

50g of creamy soft goat’s cheese

1 tablespoon each of basil and mint

1 tablespoon of Parmesan

1 lemon

Salt and pepper

* To begin with toast the pumpkin seeds for a few minutes under the grill; having placed them on a baking tray.

* Bring a large pan of water to the boil, add some salt and then drop the pasta in he pot.

* Meanwhile place the oil, garlic, peas, herbs and a bit of salt and pepper in a small pot and heat on a low heat for seven minutes. By this point it will smell really good!

* Once the pasta is cooked, drain and add them to a large bowl. Add the pea mixture, the toasted seeds and parmesan and mix. Then break apart the goat’s cheese and mix it in as well. Add a good squeeze of lemon! Enjoy!

This was so good, and only needs a green salad with it!

